So I’ve asked you to “Suck It Up” but at what cost?

It’s interesting to see my peers as we all reflect on our navigation through this study of ICTs and pedagogy.  I had already decided to reflect on the importance of addressing potential concerns when presenting new ICTs to children, and reading Megan’s Blog has furthered my thoughts.

Megan writes with passion as she reflects on the fears of many parents/educators when dealing with ICTs:

“Should we as teachers be encouraging the use of technologies that much, that students are losing what I see as important everyday skills, such as writing with a pen and paper?!”

These are the exact concerns that were expressed by parents as we were given the opportunity to volunteer our child’s participation in a BYO iPad program at her school.  I have to say, these were never my concerns.  So many parents and peers have expressed their worry that pen and paper will become extinct but I don’t believe this will ever be the case.  It’s my opinion that many would have had the same concerns when calculators were first put on the school booklist.  I wonder if they were concerned that children would never be able to mentally calculate once these were commonly used in classrooms, and what about when we were able to take them into classrooms? “Gasp!”.

However, these concerns are valid! Therefore, I think as educators, when introducing a new ICT to children, it’s important for us to see the potential concerns, and address these to allay parent’s fears.  Part of the first assignment for this ICT course is to present an online artifact and I plan on making some of my artifact dedicated to addressing potential concerns.  I believe this is an important approach to teaching – understanding the concerns of parents, and addressing these in a compassionate and understanding way.

There’s another great article about the use of iPads to transform the classroom by Ben Johnson on his blog.  Click on the image below to see his interesting point of view about appropriate use of iPads vs inappropriate use.

Image

Leave a Reply

