Sports day… A vital part of school communities.

Sports day yesterday at my prac school. I’m completely exhausted from the experience but since I’ve been working at schools for 3 years now I knew it would be like that. I’m not complaining- I genuinely LOVE these days at schools and I actually think they are incredibly important for many reasons.

Firstly, they promote the community feeling that makes a school the place it is. When students feel like they are a part of something bigger, they realise how special that is. Sports carnivals and the likes display that community so obviously that children are forced to recognise their part in the world around them. It’s undeniable that they have something to be responsible for and something to take pride in. Students cheer for their friends, siblings, their team and begin to develop connections to a larger community that will be the foundations for active citizens of the future.

Secondly, and this is perhaps what hits home for me the most, is that it’s a chance for students to step out of their comfort zone, try something that they may or may not be good at, but regardless, after putting in effort and persistence they will feel a sense of achievement. That’s really important. I was never good at sports and so I wouldn’t naturally seek out sport in my own time, but doing it on sports day allowed me to see that giving it a go and celebrating the successes of others was fun and important. Even though my parents knew it wasn’t my forte, (I’m a music / drama kind of kid!) they never gave me permission to sit out one single school sporting event. I spent my day yesterday cheering on every single child on every single jump they did at my high jump and long jump spot. One of the teachers said “you’re very encouraging and enthusiastic!” It’s because I saw the hesitation in these young children and their fear of failure. I wanted them to see the fun, the joy of the experience and the feeling that comes from persisting at something instead of giving up. Every kid got so much better at their jumps by the end, and again I celebrated and pointed out their progress.

I cannot tell you how strongly I feel about the importance of these events, developing the confidence and persistence in our kids, and teaching them to celebrate the successes of others. These are such vital characteristics of healthy, strong and independent adults!

20140607-113605-41765355.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rebekahkadams
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 17:51:15

    What a great day!! Looks like fun!!

    Rebekah Adams

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Rebekah's blog
  3. Trackback: The journey

Leave a Reply

