The Pedagogy Wheel – A Blooming Great Idea!

Thanks for this fabulous resource! I’m mentally using SAMR with everything I do on prac – and making notes as to the success / room for improvement for my assignments. I’ve downloaded an app on my iPhone with Blooms Taxonomy and you select the level to get different words, activity ideas etc. It’s brilliant that we can refer to these vitally important pedagogical principles so easily as teachers. I’ve really focused on using Blooms’ languages in my teaching, making explicit references to “analyse”, “judge” and “evaluate” for the students as I feel these words need to be heard and referenced to activities from very early in education so that the student understanding and the nature of higher order thinking is build in to their little brains!

My Learning Journey

blooms apps

I came across this site which has a diagram of the Pedagogy Wheel. It aligns different iPad apps within the Samr Model and Blooms Taxonomy to enhance classroom activities. The creator of the Pedagogy Wheel said he….

 “wanted a model that could be applied to everything from curriculum planning, development, writing learning objectives and designing student centered activities”.

At the centre of the wheel is immersive learning to engage students. I thoroughly recommend checking out the site to learn more about the Pedagogy Wheel, The Samr Model and Blooms Taxonomy for a digital age. There is also a link on their site or you can follow by clicking here – to a seminar which gives ideas of the latest use of the Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy and how the iPad can serve the pedagogy. It has reference to 62 apps with 18 video based tutorials.

View original post

Leave a Reply

